Kentucky Derby!

For those of you MMA Fans who don't know, the Triple Crown is a trio of races held in May and June every year for 3-year-old Thoroughbreds and represents one of the greatest achievements in horse racing today. To earn the Triple Crown title, a horse must win each leg of the three-race series: the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes. And each year, a new crop of 3-year-olds excites the nation with the prospect of a Triple Crown winner.

The 139th edition of the greatest non-MMA related 2 minutes in sports starts on Saturday, May 4 at 6:24 PM ET, but the race to the Kentucky Derby is already underway. More than a few contenders are making their names known under the new points system in an attempt to fill the gates in the Triple Crown’s premier event. Don't waste time and check out the Kentucky Derby now.

The Road to the Kentucky Derby points system features 36 races for 3-year-old thoroughbreds and replaces the previous system, which included around 185 graded stakes races worldwide. The new system is divided into two phases, the Kentucky Derby Prep Season and the Kentucky Derby Championship Series.

The Kentucky Derby Prep Season includes 19 races over distances of at least one mile and are run between September and February. Prep season if followed by the Kentucky Derby Championship Series which is made up of two legs and a wild card round totalling 17 races. Points are awarded to the top four finishers of each race and the top 20 point earners will earn a spot in The Run for the Roses.

This year, the 2013 Kentucky Derby will be held at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Ky., on May 4th. So MMA Fans, take a break as the Run for the Roses is almost here. Make sure you don’t miss out on a single race for the Triple Crown with Bovada’s Racebook.

Report Broken Video


Post a Comment